Posted by: chrisklassen91 | 11/30/2009

The State of Revelstoke and My First Day at RMR

Well after a few days of absence from the blogging scene I am back. It’s been a little different around here with the lack of Ross for a few days and the addition of Jordi to our household. Like I have said before, every person brings a different thing to the table in consideration to personalities and talents. With Jordi comes a seriously needed kick in the pants in the cleanliness department. I’ve had the kitchen on lock down but she now rules the bathrooms with a bottle of knock-off oxy clean.

So now that’s off the chopping block. We had our 4th/5th (unsure) weekly get-together at the house and have started to make a name for ourselves in the town as the place to be on a Sunday night…yeah Sunday. I’ve met many wonderful people in this town, and it only reminds me of why I love to travel the world, meet new people and have good times with those people.

As you may have seen, I have left last week’s Snowtunes unfinished due to serious forgetfulness and I guess…laziness, but I am determined to keep that going as it is the most viewed thing on this blog. So as of…soon! I will add 5 more songs and add reviews for the last 10 songs as to keep things going.

You may have already read Colton’s wonderful description of opening day, but I’d love to give a separate point of view on the whole thing, my point of view. I am what you would call a …noob to snowboarding. I was up 8-9 times last year and most of those times were spent learning the ins and outs of snowboarding and the fine mechanics behind it. After the end of the season last year I though I had seen mostly everything a mountain could throw at me besides park and backcountry, but I was wrong.  I got to the top of the highest chair at RMR and I dropped down into whiteout conditions with waist deep powder that cushioned any unlucky fall or mishap. Consequences were reduced severely but my god was my back leg burning by the end of the day. The sheer chore of carving and turning became a volunteer torture by the end of the day. Everyone congratulated me for ripping like I did down the blacks and blues of RMR with the finesse I shouldn’t have had after only 8 days of boarding experience so it wasn’t all bad. I won’t lie it was a lot of fun, but I will be working for my fun this year. My view of snowboarding is: risk everything, fear nothing. So when I’m staring down steep icy slopes, unmapped glades and pillows of fresh pow with legs burning I will not chicken out. Payoff comes with work, hopefully this will accelerate my learning and allow me to roll with my peers…with less falling and less embarrassingly.


Leave a comment

Categories